Difference Between a Geek and a Nerd

nerds-vs-geeks-cutThis year, I was talking with one of my friends and we got on the topic of the difference between geeks and nerds and were trying to decide which we were. I was arguing that geeks themselves were more book smart; that is geeks are people who have an extreme fascination with academics and excel in school work.  I believed that geeks were tech-savvy individuals and were also interested in indoor activities, such as reading and less active, more imaginative games such as dungeons and dragons and are fascinated with movies such as Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica.

On the contrary, nerds are more obsessed with fandoms, television shows, and other things of the like. They are interested in sports such as quidditch and live action role play. I believed that nerds were more interested in fiction novels, such as Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. I believed that nerds were more inclined to read novels and were more critical of films.

Both nerds and geeks I thought were likened to be socially awkward.

However, a quick Google search later, the featured image in this article was found and a few other sources opposing my viewpoints expressed above. I also called a friend to ask her opinion on the situation and she disagreed with every one of my ideas. If I were to redo this argument I would have lost regardless, but I would try to exclude the internet from interfering with the nature of the argument. I would rather ask for the full opinion of the friend with whom I started the conversation. With these restrictions, I would argue the opinions of my opponent rather than finding dictionary definitions and other people’s opinions online. This way I would keep the argument strictly personal opinion based rather than fact-based because that is on what this specific  debate was focused.

Leave a Reply

